Beer fest weekend in Munich

So this weekend I decided to go to Munich, Germany with some friends for some awesome tasting beer, sight-seeing and maybe learn about some history. This time I went low budget and travelled by bus there and back for approximately $70. It took approximately 7 hours from Brno to Munich. My longest bus trip ever, and worst off, it was a bumpy ride, so I had a fear of using the toilet and held it in until the bus had to refill at a petrol station.

We arrived in Munich, Germany at around 11am on Friday and by the time we found our way to the hostel it was already 2pm. We dropped our bag in our room and then headed out to the biggest central park in the world. This park was pretty down to earth, they had three beer garden in the park that sold 1 litre mug of beer and food. It was a very social atmosphere, people were socializing with each other people while enjoying a beer in a lovely afternoon overlooking the pond. We spent the afternoon walking through the park and then headed back to our hostel and rested for awhile before we went out to dinner.

We went to a restaurant near our hostel, it was a little expensive and the food was very ordinary. It wasn’t worth the money. Once again, this is probably due to my dislike of using the Euro. However, after dinner, things finally got off to a good start as we headed off to the Hofbrauhaus for some famous Hofbrauhaus beer that all tourist and Germans brag about. I must admit, this was some amazingly awesome beer, I wasn’t disappointed at all. We each drowned down the 1 Litre mug of beer, and I was pretty sure I was a little tipsy afterwards because I started dancing to the German music. This weekend I ended up drowning down a total of 2 litres of beer.  Don’t be surprised when I return to Sydney with a beer belly!

It was an early start for us on Saturday as we took advantage of the ‘Free’ three hour walking tour around Munich being held by Gratis. Gratis is a tour company that conduct free tours throughout Europe and are dependent upon tips from tourist on how much they enjoyed the tour or whether they enjoy it or not. I must admit, for the 4 Euro that I tipped, it was worth it after all. Tipping upon how much you think the tour is worth, what can go wrong! I would recommend Gratis to anyyone that were to ever travel to Europe and needed to kill time and wanting to know more about the history of the city they were in.

The club that we went to that night was horrible, their drink menu consisted of shots and they had one cocktail on the list that they didn’t even serve. Maybe I was a little disappointed due to the high expectation of paying a hefty entrance fee and this place was highly recommended whereas in Sydney, places like these would be free.

On Sunday, we decided to spend our final day in Munich by going to Dachau concentration camp used by the Germans to imprison and torture Jews and liberators that did not conform to their standards or expectations. This place was a very chilling site, especially after learning that more than 20,000 human beings were being tortured to death by people of their own kind just because they didn’t meet a certain standard. It was built to house 6,000 people, but in the end housed 30,000 people instead as they were crammed together being tortured, murdered and starved to death. All of this happened not long ago, approximately around 70 years ago.

Munich, Germany for me was kind of a disappointment, there wasn’t much to see and everything was expensive for my likings. I really wanted to see Ludwig castle right up in the mountains but it was also expensive to travel there, so we didn’t end up going there. Other than the beer, Munich is not worth travelling to. I should have followed my instinct and went to Berlin instead.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment