Carnival of Venice

I’m two weeks behind on blogging, or the recount of my adventures.

From Prague to Venice. This week a friend of mine suggested that I should head to Venice with her for the last week of the Carnival of Venice. Pizza, Pasta, Gelato and people in costumes? Sounds awesome, how couldn’t I not refuse this great offer that Venice, Italy has to offer once a year!

Planning the cheapest way in such a short amount of time involved a lot of research and stress, endless hour on the computer finding transport and accommodation. But however, somehow we managed and ended up in Venice, Italy for the weekend and it was all worth it in the weekend. Its not very often that I’m in Europe, let alone at the same time of Carnival of Venice. Thus, this is an opportunity not to be missed!

We left Brno on Friday at mid-night to catch a train to Prague. From Prague will flew to Venice, Italy and arrived at 11am. By 1pm we were already settling down at our separate hostel because we booked the best and cheapest one we can find and there were no room for two people left at any hostel.

My hostel lies right in front of the canal and 7 metres away from the water taxi service station. Thus, it was conveniently and beautifully located. My first impression of Venice is that it is amazingly beautifully. It did take my breath away of how it was built, it was like a huge maze with canals running in between. There were no public transports at all, just water taxi and gondolas and everything else involved walking from one place to another. Our first day there, we walked everywhere with no clear place in mind of what we wanted to see, we had no map in hand, we just followed wherever the footpath lead and if not, then the crowd.

The streets were crowed and filled will people in unique amazing costumes and if not, mask to be in the carnival spirit. Feeling bit left out, we quickly went in search of our perfect mask, it took us awhile but the end result was we did end up with our one and only perfect mask.

My First Venitian Mask

 From there on we followed the crowd down to San Polo, the main centre of Venice where the festivities were happening. This place was bustling of people in amazing unique costume that you would only see in Lady Gaga video clips or postcards. I couldn’t even believe that I’m standing next to these costumes and taking pictures with them.

I must admit, I have never eaten so many scoops of ice-cream in my life for one weekend. This weekend I had a total of 3 cones, 9 scoop of ice cream, that’s a load of calories, but it was all worth it. I tried all kind of new different favours that i had never tried before, each one was very delicious, except vanilla lime, abit sour for my liking. Yes, I know, I am a ice-cream lover, I cannot resist ice-cream especially gelato in Venice, Italy J.

First of three scoops of Icecream

For dinner I had a 3 course meal at my hostel for 5 euro, it was awesomely delicious to, and yet at the same time cheap as well for Venice. We had two type of pasta, a spinach quiche and chocolate pudding for desert. Other than that cheap meal, everything else was expensive in Venice, from the pizza, pasta, snacks and even using the public toilet which costed me 1.50 euro to use. Maybe I’m not use to using the euro since the euro is double the Aud after being charged so much for commission.

Even though Venice was expensive, but it was worth it in the end. You can’t put a price on beauty and delicious food. I’m definitely staying away from pasta and pizza for a while, but definitely not ice-cream.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment